Pictured left, 3 of the 7 stained glass windows that represent the liberal arts.

Can you name the seven liberal arts?

3 of the 7 stained glass windows that represent the liberal arts.
November 29, 2012

In the year 1912, seven stained-glass windows portraying the medieval liberal arts were installed in what is now the understage area of WMC Alumni Hall. These windows were presented to the College as individual class gifts upon graduation from the classes of 1905 through 1912 to beautify the campus. The classes directed the artist from the Gettier Studios in Baltimore to depict some of the liberal arts as women with their identifiable symbols while other arts should be indirectly suggested by abstract decorative forms.

The Class of 1912 began the movement to further beautify the area behind Mainstage in the same way, and eight more classes followed with the portrayal of the nine Greek muses in the auditorium.

The seven liberal arts were originally developed in ancient Greece in the fourth and fifth centuries B.C. by humanists who rejected a study of the world based solely on myth and religion, and introduced a systematic study of the world based on a harmoniously united, well-rounded, and complete educational curriculum know as as the paideia.

The original liberal arts were as follows (click to enlarge):

All 7 of the stained glass windows that represent the 7 liberal arts.

Grammar, Rhetoric, Logic, Music, Astronomy, Geometry, and Arithmetic.

Now in the year 2012, these windows continue to embody the College’s roots in liberal learning.

  • Learn more about the transformation of the fields of human knowledge in our current curriculum we call the McDaniel Plan
Fall undergraduate registration
April 17, 2014, 12:00 am
McDaniel String Ensemble
April 17, 2014, 7:00 pm
"EVIL DEAD: The Musical"
April 17, 2014, 7:30 pm
Junior Visit Day
April 21, 2014, 9:30 am
Student Solo Recital
April 21, 2014, 7:00 pm
The Ridington Lecture
April 22, 2014, 7:30 pm
Musician Brandon Stiles
April 22, 2014, 8:00 pm
Larry Hogan: What I’ve Learned
April 23, 2014, 4:30 pm
Graduate Open House
April 24, 2014, 5:30 pm
Student Chamber Music Ensembles
April 24, 2014, 7:00 pm
McDaniel Dance Company Recital
April 25, 2014, 7:00 pm
Animal House - Decker Auditorium
April 25, 2014, 9:00 pm
Spring Undergraduate Awards Ceremony
April 27, 2014, 12:00 am
Junior Open House
April 27, 2014, 1:00 pm
Children's Chorus of Carroll County
April 27, 2014, 2:00 pm