Founders Society members enjoy improved Gill Center

September 30, 2008

More than 260 Founders Society members reunited September 20 in the Klitzberg Pavilion to relish in Gill Center’s renovation. A red carpet walkway led guests inside the athletic arena where an illusionary tent transformed the gymnasium into a spectacular dinner setting. Throughout the evening, guests raved about meeting students, 19 in attendance, who designed posters with topics from study abroad to community service projects to the new Stadium Project.

“Together we’re building the future of McDaniel,” said President Joan Develin Coley in her brief remarks at the dinner thanking Founders for their generosity. “Because of you, we had our second most successful fund-raising year ever with a total of $15 million raised and provide students an exemplary education in a much improved campus environment.”

The Founders Society represents the mainspring of financial support for the College’s educational mission. Society members include donors whose annual gifts total $1,000 or more. Founders Society members contribute nearly 90 percent of all Annual Fund dollars.

David’61, M’68 and Nancy’62 Sullivan, Carole’64 and Jack Baile’62, M’73

Bob’43 and Perk’46 Beglin

Founders Committee (center, l.-r.) Mike Savarese’57, M’69, Ralph Frith’84, Debbie Seidel ’84, Lois Meszaros’64, M’72, Pam Zappardino’71, Tom Quirk’92, Ed Hermann’70

Board Chair Marty Hill addresses Society members

Fran’62 and Dick Gardiner’58 with granddaughter Courtney Jackson’10

Travis ’12 and Carl Gold’78

Tracy Imm’87 and husband Donald

Dorothy Keene’74 and Julia Hitchcock

Kelly and Marty Hill with Chris Royer’48

Patrick Linton’71 and wife Sharon

President Joan Develin Coley with Campaign Chair Lee Rice’48

Patrice M’79 and Bruce Preston’75 with son Gibbs’10 and Bill Warner’08

John Olsh’67, Greg Miller’09 and Don Rembert’61.

Members of the Student Alumni Council Holly Debaugh ’10 and Courtney Jackson ’10 and Alexandra McCormick ’10 (photo below) created poster exhibits briefing Founders on new living-learning initiatives.