Homecoming highlights Gill Stadium dedication

October 09, 2012

Alumni and friends return to campus for Homecoming 2012 on Nov. 2-3 to dedicate the new Kenneth R. Gill Stadium, cheer on the Green Terror in its football game against Susquehanna, toast the alumni award winners and Sports Hall of Famers, reconnect with old friends and savor the tailgating experience that earned McDaniel national ratings as a top tailgater with Southern Living magazine and The Weather Channel.

The stadium will be dedicated at midfield during halftime of the football game. Ken Gill ’61 learned the art of achieving big goals through individual skill and teamwork while he was a student-athlete on the Hill. At the Feb. 3 groundbreaking for the new stadium, the former football player and successful entrepreneur was celebrated for his role in spearheading the campaign to fund the $8-million project.

As chair of the Stadium Project Committee, Gill has helped raise more than $7.7 million from more than 100 donors, several making first-time gifts. His own gift of $2.25 million, which he made together with his wife, Joanne Moffatt Gill ’62, was cheered by trustees, who voted that the new stadium would have his name on it.

In other Homecoming activities, alumni will be recognized with the Alumnus of the Year award – this year honoring H. Hugh Dawkins, Jr. ’69, M.Ed. ’71 (right) – as well as awards for professional achievement, community service and college service and inductions into the Sports Hall of Fame.

Dawkins, a one-time college administrator who served WMC (now McDaniel) as a member of the faculty, registrar and as a major fundraiser, will be celebrated as Alumnus of the Year.  The Easton, Md.-based businessman is commended for his professional achievement, community service and continued leadership to support the Alumni Association and the College’s educational mission.

“I am very humbled and honored to be joining the wonderful group of alumni, all of whom I have respected from my time on the Hill, ” said Dawkins, who gave countless hours volunteering in alumni activities and in the local Westminster community.

Even after leaving the College in 1989 and relocating to the Eastern Shore where he managed a family garden center, he took on many roles to support the college. These included service as Alumni Association treasurer, committee membership on bylaws and constitution review, undergraduate relations, Homecoming, Reunion and, recently, the WMC Heritage Society.

He received the Alumni Association’s Meritorious Service Award in 1989 and its Community Service Award in 2003.

Dawkins and his wife, Kathy, whom he met on the campus where she served as student activities director, were married in Baker Memorial Chapel in 1984. Since 1993, they own and operate a medical billing and practice management firm based in Easton. They have three grown children, two daughters and a son.

A member of Easton’s Rotary Club since 1991, Dawkins is actively involved in community organizations from the city’s Little League to its annual Waterfowl Festival to the Hospice Foundation. In 2001, the Waterfowl Board presented Dawkins with its Distinguished Service Award and the Maryland Hospice Network named him a recipient of the “You Make a Difference” award.

The 2012 Sports Hall of Fame inductees will be honored during a banquet at 6 p.m. Friday, Nov. 2. The Green Terror Sports Hall of Fame honors former athletes who have acquired prominence in their chosen fields and who have also made contributions to society. This year’s inductees are John D. “Jack” Baile ’62, M.Ed. ’73; Richard E. Estes, Jr. ’98; Kenneth R. Gill ’61, Jill K. Ibex ’01; Jill M. Krebs ’02; Teron T. Powell ’02; Andrew R. Steckel ’92, M.S.’94 and Suzanne Stettinius ’11.

Alumni Community Service awards, to graduates who have performed outstanding voluntary service to their community beyond normal business or professional obligations, will be presented to Leon R. Cronce ’71, W. Bradley Distad ’04 and Florence Mehl Wootten ’58.

Alumni Professional Achievement awards, to graduates who have gained national/international distinction in his/her chosen field or profession and whose accomplishments reflect admirably on the College, will honor Sandra Brant Alvey ’87, Richard F. Leighton ’51 and Lisa Taneyhill ’95.

The Alumni College Service Award, to graduates who have demonstrated exceptional leadership, devotion and service for the betterment of the College Alumni Association, will recognize Monika van der berg McCormick ’73.

More information or register for Homecoming.