Junior ALD honor society member wins one of top 10 scholarship awards

October 03, 2011

Junior Luke Schmidt of Red Lion, Pa., was awarded a prestigious Jo Anne J. Trow Scholarship through Alpha Lambda Delta during the ceremony inducting 28 sophomores into the honor society, which recognizes outstanding academic achievement during students’ first year of college.

A member of ALD since the fall of his sophomore year, Schmidt is one of only 35 Trow scholarship winners nationwide. The Biology major, who was among only 10 of the scholarship winners to receive the highest level award of $3,000, was honored for maintaining a 3.5 GPA or higher, for his campus and community activities and for his service through ALD. The honor society currently has chapters on 270 campuses, and this year recognized about 30,000 new members.

Admitted to Alpha Lambda Delta during the Oct. 1 ceremony are sophomores Cassandra Berube of Christiana, Pa., Andrea Briggs of McMurray, Pa., Sara Caporaletti of Damascus, Md., Mary Chow of Silver Spring, Md., Kathryn Dales of New Freedom, Pa., Danielle Decolli of Mt. Airy, Md., Madison Deegan of Sykesville, Md., Deanna Dicello of Gaithersburg, Md., Kristen Hall of Essex, Md., Kristine Harjes of Rumson, N.J., Madeline Jackowski of Cumberland, Md., Rebecca Kaler of Jefferson, Md., Jeffrey Kane of Elkridge, Md., Andrew Keogh of Baltimore, Joel Kleinberg of Setauket, N.Y., Candice Lyle of Baltimore, Stephanie Maring of Woodbine, Md., Joshua Matukonis of Merchantville, N.J., Phoebe McHale of Collegeville, Md., Brighid Molony of Conway, S.C., Sarah Ramey of Louisville, Ky., Emily Sanders of Danbury, Conn., Amber Slater of Westminster, Md., Samantha Stair of Mount Airy, Md., Jason Stein of Rockville, Md., Sarah Tate of Hagerstown, Md., Hannah Van Der Veken of Parkton, Md., Samantha Wilson of New Castle, Colo.

Fall undergraduate registration
April 18, 2014, 12:00 am
"EVIL DEAD: The Musical"
April 18, 2014, 7:30 pm
Junior Visit Day
April 21, 2014, 9:30 am
Student Solo Recital
April 21, 2014, 7:00 pm
The Ridington Lecture
April 22, 2014, 7:30 pm
Musician Brandon Stiles
April 22, 2014, 8:00 pm
Larry Hogan: What I’ve Learned
April 23, 2014, 4:30 pm
Quazy in the Quad
April 23, 2014, 5:00 pm
Graduate Open House
April 24, 2014, 5:30 pm
Student Chamber Music Ensembles
April 24, 2014, 7:00 pm
McDaniel Dance Company Recital
April 25, 2014, 7:00 pm
Animal House - Decker Auditorium
April 25, 2014, 9:00 pm
Spring Undergraduate Awards Ceremony
April 27, 2014, 12:00 am
Junior Open House
April 27, 2014, 1:00 pm
Children's Chorus of Carroll County
April 27, 2014, 2:00 pm