McDaniel employees achieve 590 years of service

February 16, 2010

McDaniel College recognized 32 employees January 27, 2010, for their many years of dedicated service during a special seniority recognition luncheon in the College’s Decker Center Forum.

The distinguished group of employees, each with at least 10 years of service, represents 590 years of working on the Hill. President Joan Develin Coley hosted the service awards program. Each of the employees was presented with an engraved gift featuring their name, department, and respective years of service.

“Our staff demonstrates daily what it means to be a community and their commitment to the College and our students ensure our success each and every semester,” said Coley.

25, 30, 40 and 45 Years of Service

FROM LEFT: President Joan Develin Coley; FOR 25 YEARS: Gary E. Hill, Plumber, Building Maintenance and Repair; Carole J. Klapper, Academic Secretary, Departments of Biology, Chemistry, and Environmental Policy and Science; and Edgar S. Sell, Director of Facilities Planning and Capital Improvements, Administration and Finance; FOR 30 YEARS: Joyce D. Muller, Associate Vice President, Communications and Marketing; FOR 40 YEARS: Ethan A. Seidel, Vice President, Administration and Finance; FOR 45 YEARS: Leona V. Shockey, Reference Assistant U.S. Government Documents, Hoover Library

20 Years of Service

FROM LEFT, FRONT ROW: Pamela S. Miller, Housekeeper, Building Services; Anita A. Thiernian, Instructional Technologist/Learning Technologies Specialist, Instructional Technology; Marcella Shoemaker, Executive Housekeeper, Building Services; Allen R. Herndon, Support Services Clerk, Post Office
BACK ROW: President Joan Develin Coley; Thomas G. Steback, Director, Human Resources; Henry B. Reiff, Dean, Graduate and Professional Studies; Earl M. Luhn, Carpenter, Building Maintenance and Repair; Richard L. Wilbur, Supervisor of Campus Grounds, Grounds Maintenance
NOT PICTURED: Mitchell K. Alexander, Director, College Activities; Clement Ani, Senior Accountant (retired), Financial Services; D. Bruce Hagan, Steam PL/HVACR Mechanic, Building Maintenance and Repair

15 Years of Service

FROM LEFT: President Joan Develin Coley; Patricia M. Williams, Director, Financial Aid; Kenneth R. Nunnelee, Equipment Manager, Intercollegiate Athletics; Laurel M. Penn, Support Services Clerk, Copy Center; Dominic J. DiMartino, Safety Officer, Campus Safety
NOT PICTURED: Janet E. Conley, Associate Coordinator of Deaf Education, Graduate and Professional Studies; Kimberly S. Parks, Director of Major Gifts, Development

10 Years of Service

FROM LEFT: President Joan Develin Coley; James M. Smith, Director of Athletics, Intercollegiate Athletics; Rose L. Blizzard, Coordinator of Records, Registrar’s Office; Kevin W. Clark, Colleague System Administrator, Information Technology; Rebecca L. Myers, Assistant Director Advancement Services, Development; Patricia E. Hull, Academic Secretary, Music; Barbara L. Clinton, Executive Secretary, Academic Affairs;
NOT PICTURED: Gay J. Love, Undergraduate Elementary PDS Liaison, Education; Terry H. Page, Event Scheduling Manager, Conference and Auxiliary Services; Andrew M. Schwessinger, Grounds Equipment Operator, Grounds Maintenance