McDaniel recognizes students, professors and alumnus

 12 0501 sawards
April 30, 2012

More than 25 honors for academic achievement and leadership were awarded to juniors, sophomores and first-year students during the 2 p.m. April 29 Spring Awards ceremony in Baker Memorial Chapel. Students were also named to three prestigious leadership honor societies, Phi Beta Kappa, Omicron Delta Kappa and Trumpeters. Senior Kwei Maduot-Parek, a Communication major from Sudan, Africa, was robed with the academic regalia of graduation as a representative of McDaniel’s class of 2012.

Full Spring Awards 2012 listing (.pdf)

Professor of Library Science Ramona Kerby received the Ira G. Zepp Distinguished Teaching Award for inspired classroom work and dedication to students. Dr. Kerby’s experience enriches and enlivens her classrooms, many of which are cyberspace domains filled with eager students from as many as 5 time zones. Her students, on campus and online, laud her commitment and accessibility as well as her extensive knowledge in library science and literature for children and young adults. The award provides a $5,000 honorarium for the faculty recipient and a matching fund for ongoing professional and scholarly development.

Board Chair Martin K.P. Hill, Trustee Alumni Awardee Dr. Greg Street, President Roger Casey

The Board of Trustees honored Greg Townsend Street ’91 (alias Ghostcrawler) with the Trustee Alumni Award for his career achievements as lead systems designer for World of Warcraft, a massively multiplayer online game with an active subscriber base of more than 10 million players worldwide. Dr. Street, who has a Ph.D. in Marine Science from the University of Texas, left academe to pursue opportunities in his computer-game hobby, first with Ensemble Studios and then with industry leader Blizzard Entertainment in California.

Provost Tom Falkner, Dr. Melanie Nilsson, Dr. Mona Kerby, Dr. Mona Becker, President Roger Casey

Mona Becker, assistant professor of Environmental Studies, and Melanie Nilsson, associate professor of Chemistry, were awarded the Zepp Teaching Enhancement Grant to explore academic and service-learning opportunities on several Lakota reservations in South Dakota from late June through Mid-July. Accompanied by two students this summer, the professors expect their experiences this summer to provide a roadmap for the development of a sustainable program to connect McDaniel College with the Native American communities in South Dakota. The grant, established by trustee Charles Moore, Jr. ’71 and Carol Hoerichs Moore ’70, encourages a significant project that has as its outcome enhanced teaching.

Celebrating 30 years since it was established is the Isabel Isanogle Royer Biology Scholarship named in memory of Professor Royer who taught biology and botany at the College from 1942-79; and the 25th anniversary of the Ralph B. Price Scholarship named in the memory of Professor Price who taught economics and served as department chairman from 1954-77. Awardees were Juliana Broussard of Hagerstown, Md., and Charles A. Kronmiller of Norristown, Pa. respectively.

Juliana Broussard’13, winner of 2012 Isabel I. Royer Biology Scholarship with Provost Falkner

Charles Kronmiller’13, winner of 2012 Ralph Price Scholarship with Provost Falkner

Awards were also presented to outstanding students across the disciplines, including Art, Biology, Chemistry, Communication, Mathematics, Physics, and Sociology.

Omicron Delta Kappa is a national leadership honor society which recognizes achievement in one of the following areas: scholarship, athletics, community service, social/religious activities, campus government, mass media, and the creative and performing arts. The Trumpeters is a McDaniel leadership honor society that recognizes exemplary qualities of leadership, integrity, and sincerity.

McDaniel College will award about 600 bachelor’s and master’s degrees at the College’s 142nd Commencement at 2 p.m. May 19 in Gill Center, when the college will award honorary degrees to Dr. Nancy S. Grasmick, Maryland’s first female state superintendent of schools and known for her strong focus on student achievement, teacher quality and public-school funding, and Dr. Edwin Welch ’65, president of the University of Charleston in West Virginia since 1989, who has led the university through extensive growth and fundraising that doubled full-time enrollment, tripled the endowment, redefined the university’s mission, transformed its academic program and added schools of pharmacy and business.  The College will hold its annual Baccalaureate and Senior Honors Convocation at 7:30 p.m. May 18 at Gill Center.

© 2017 McDaniel College