Seniors, faculty, alumni recognized at 2008 Honors Convocation

May 07, 2008

Members of the Class of 2008 were honored with academic, activity, and leadership awards at the annual Senior Investiture and Honors Convocation May 4.

Receiving the top senior awards given at the ceremony were Jonathan David Schultz, awarded the Bates Prize for the most outstanding male graduating senior, and Christine Michelle Frieman, awarded The Mary Ward Lewis Prize for the most outstanding female graduating senior.

Jon is the 2008 outstanding Biology major and recipient of the Sturdivant Biology Award. He is president of several campus organizations including the biology honor society, Tri-Beta, Inter-Greek Council, Outdoors Club, and member of Alpha Sigma Phi fraternity and the Student Alumni Council. He is the son of Maria and Joseph Schultz of Baltimore.

Christine is completing a major in History and also a self-designed major in Women and Gender Studies. She has presented academic papers at the Mid-Atlantic Popular Culture Association, and this year, presented her senior colloquium paper at the Phi Alpha Theta World History Association meeting. She was president of the campus Women’s Issues Group, History Club and co-directed the student production of “The Vagina Monologues,” that this year raised $5,000 for charity. She is the daughter of Margaret and David Frieman of Bel Air, Md.

Seniors Christopher Scott Reed and Robbin Corliss Gregg were recognized as this year’s top athletes and awarded the John A. Alexander Medal, and the Faith Millard Medal respectively. Chris, son of Janet and Michael Reed of Bowie, Md., etched his name in the McDaniel swimming record book setting four individual records and capturing several Centennial Conference medals. Robbin, who played guard on the McDaniel basketball team, was named to the 2008 All-Centennial Conference team. She is the daughter of Fred and Carol Gregg of Oakland, Md.

Professor of Music Margaret Boudreaux received The Zepp Distinguished Teaching Award and Assistant Professor of English Julia Jasken and Senior Lecturer and Director of College Writing Suzanne Seibert both received the Zepp Teaching Enhancement Grant.

The Board of Trustees gave alumni career and service achievement awards to M. James Kaufman ’91 of Bel Air, Md., who directs lobbying and governmental affairs for Johns Hopkins Institutions, and Barbara Payne Shelton ’70 of Towson, Md., who is an expert in the education and development of young children.

The College will graduate the Class of 2008 at the 138th commencement at 2 p.m. on Saturday, May 24.

List of awards (PDF)