Seniors, faculty, alumni recognized at 2009 Honors Convocation

May 05, 2009

Members of the Class of 2009 were honored with academic, activity, and leadership awards at the annual Senior Investiture and Honors Convocation May 3. Senior Class President Kadijat “Yemi” Oladiran, a Business Administration major from Silver Spring, was robed or invested with the academic regalia of graduation as a representative of McDaniel’s class of 2009.

Receiving the top senior awards given at the ceremony were Cody Justin Crutchley, awarded the Bates Prize for the most outstanding male graduating senior, and Michelle Lynn Fluty, awarded The Mary Ward Lewis Prize for the most outstanding female graduating senior.

Cody Crutchley, who has a double major in Psychology and Sociology, is a member of the Honors Program, the Biology honors society Beta Beta Beta, Phi Beta Kappa, Pi Gamma Mu, and the Cross Country Team and Indoor and Outdoor Track teams. He has been president of Alpha Lambda Delta and both the Sociology and Psychology clubs, secretary of Omicron Delta Kappa leadership fraternity, and a member of the Athletic Advisory Committee. Cody is the son of Janet Nichols of Walkersville, Md., and Ed Crutchley of Frederick.

Michelle Fluty, an Exercise Science and Physical Education major with a Sport Coaching minor, is a four-year letter-winner who started in every game in field hockey and lacrosse. During her senior year, she was captain of both teams. She was named to the Centennial Conference Academic Honor Roll in 2008 and will graduate with departmental honors. Michelle is the daughter of Pamela and Howard Fluty of Huntingtown, Md.

Seniors Justin Andrew Reitz and Michelle Lynn Fluty were recognized as this year’s top athletes and awarded the John A. Alexander Medal and the Faith Millard Medal respectively. Justin, son of Ron and Pat Reitz of Halifax, Pa., is a four-year baseball starter who also earned a letter all four years. An outstanding catcher, he stands among the College’s top five career hitters. Michelle, a starter on the lacrosse and field hockey teams during her four years on the Hill, counts among her many honors being named to the National Field Hockey Coaches Association National Academic Squad in 2008.

Professor of Political Science Herbert Smith received The Zepp Distinguished Teaching Award.

The Board of Trustees gave alumni career and service achievement awards to Karen Clark ’79, who revolutionized catastrophe risk assessment and management, and Michael Mock ’73, who is an expert in marketing and business development.

McDaniel College will award nearly 400 bachelor’s and about 200 master’s degrees at the College’s 139th Commencement at 2 p.m. May 23 in Gill Center.

List of award winners from the May 3 Senior Investiture and Honors Convocation.

List of award winners from the April 26 Spring Undergraduate Awards.