Seniors, faculty, alumni recognized at 2011 Honors Convocation

May 02, 2011

Members of the Class of 2011 were honored May 1 with academic, activity, and leadership awards at the annual Senior Investiture and Honors Convocation. Senior Class Member Brock Glotfelty, an Exercise Science & Physical Education major from Grantsville, Md., was robed with the academic regalia of graduation as a representative of McDaniel’s class of 2011.

Glotfelty also was awarded the Bates Prize for the most outstanding male graduating senior, and Jeneice Shaw from Needmore, Pa., was awarded the Mary Ward Lewis Prize for the most outstanding female graduating senior.

A two-time Scholar All-American, Glotfelty plans to become an elementary school classroom teacher and wrestling coach. He finished his athletic career this year, advancing this March to the NCAA tournament for the third consecutive year where he finished third at heavyweight and set the Green Terror all-time career victories record this season with 122 wins.

Brock Glotfelty, recipeint of Bates Prize

Shaw, who has a double major in Psychology and Women’s Studies, has served as a tutor and writing fellow to her peers and as president of the Women’s Issues Group, secretary and senior class representative for the Honors Program, and choral librarian. Both as a volunteer and intern at the local rape crisis center, Shaw conducted a yearlong research project on sexual assault for her senior honors project. She has been accepted into the graduate program in Clinical Psychology at Ball State University.

Jeneice Leigh Ann Shaw, recipient of Mary Ward Lewis Prize

Glotfelty joined Lindsay Wilson of Baltimore, Md., to be recognized as this year’s top athletes and awarded the John A. Alexander Medal and the Faith Millard Medal respectively. Wilson was a two-time All-Mideast performer during cross country season and a two-time All-Centennial Conference performer. She holds the top 6,000-meter time in cross country program history and holds four indoor track and field records.

Graduate student in Counselor Education Charles Carr of Sykesville, Md., was named the recipient of the newest academic honor, the B. Jill Brooks Hodge Professional Development Award, dedicated to the memory of Ms. Hodge ’79, M’81, by family, friends and Delta Sigma Kappa sisters to annually support an award to a graduate student with a strong compassion for individuals with special needs and an interest in serving the deaf or disabled.

Professor Simeon Schlossberg with graduate student Charles Carr, first recipient of new B. Jill Brooks Hodge Professional Development Award

Associate Professor of Psychology Stephanie D. Madsen received the Ira G. Zepp Distinguished Teaching Award for inspired classroom work and dedication to students. The award provides a $5,000 honorarium for the faculty recipient and a matching fund for ongoing professional and scholarly development.

President Casey with Zepp Faculty Grant recipients Amy McNicols and Bill Spence

Amy McNichols, associate professor of Foreign Languages, and William Spence, senior lecturer of English, were awarded the Zepp Teaching Enhancement Grant to develop a course, initially in the form of a January Term study trip, that represents an innovative approach to global experiential learning.  Specifically, the grant will fund an extended stay in Cuernavaca, Mexico, during which time they will work closely with their local partners and the Center for Global Education in the design of the course, and to attend the International Association for Research on Service-learning and Community Engagement Conference in November 2011.

Al Law, professor emeritus of Economics and long serving department chair, was recognized by faculty peers in the replacing of the annual Wall Street Journal Award in his honor. The first recipient of the Law Award for Excellence in Economics is Jennifer Garnett of Los Altos, Calif.  She is president of Omicron Delta Epsilon, the Economics honor society and completed her senior honors thesis in currency exchange markets.

Economics professor emeritus Al Law with senior Jennifer Garnett

The Board of Trustees gave alumni career and service achievement awards to Susanne Laws Haga ’94, senior policy scientist and assistant research professor at Duke University’s Institute of Genome Sciences and Policy; Erin Thompson Strovel ’93, assistant professor of Pediatrics at the University of Maryland School of Medicine and director of the Pediatric Biochemical Genetics Laboratory; and Beth Sullivan ’90, assistant professor in Molecular Genetics and Microbiology at Duke University’s Institute of Genome Sciences and Policy.

Biology Professor Louise Paquin (far left) and Trustee Alumni Awardees Beth Sullivan '90, Erin Thompson Strovel ’93, and Susanne Laws Haga '94

McDaniel College will award 360 bachelor’s and 215 master’s degrees at the College’s 141th Commencement at 2 p.m. May 21 in Gill Center.

List of award winners and Honors Convocation Program (.pdf) from the May 1 Senior Investiture and Honors Convocation.