Students lead at Maryland Student Legislature

May 07, 2008

McDaniel students were elected April 25-27 to leadership roles in the Maryland Student Legislature. The 19th annual session was held at the Lowe House Office Building in Annapolis.

Jessica Curtis ’09 was elected as Lt. Governor, and Matt Emery ’10 was selected as Speaker of the Assembly for the educational non-profit.

“This is a particularly strong group,” says faculty advisor and Political Science Professor Herb Smith. “The program involves multiple liberal arts skills including information gathering, bargaining, compromise and public speaking. It’s a full integration of intellectual and communication skills.”

Additionally, McDaniel students won several awards including, for the third time in eight years, Most Outstanding Delegation. Pat Johnson ’11 won the Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. Award, and Courtney Nightengale ’09 won Best Orator.

Jared Luner ’08, outgoing Student Governor, was the winner of the William Troy Simmons Award. Named for the founder of MSL, the award recognizes the outgoing senior who has most distinguished themself in their career of service to the Maryland Student Legislature. This year, Luner also held leadership roles in the Model UN and European Union simulation.

The MSL is comprised of students from nine universities and colleges across Maryland who write, research and debate issues of local, state and national importance. Students are educated on the legislative process including developing skills in parliamentary procedure, researching and drafting legislation and understanding the organizational structure of leadership. Throughout the academic year, students participate in legislative sessions culminating with the Annual Session. For more information, visit the MSL website at