Theatre students perform professor’s original pantomime

December 14, 2009

Written and directed by Theatre professor Ira Domser – and presented in the opulent style of the British Holiday Pantomime – “Young Robin Hood” has it all: music, comedy, magic, sword-fighting and madcap Vaudevillian frivolity.

Performances are 7:30 p.m. Dec. 17-18, 1:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. Dec. 19 in WMC Alumni Hall. Tickets: $10 for adults, $8 for seniors, students, and the McDaniel College community. For information, call the box office at 410-857-2448 or visit us online at

A special ticket offer, “Pay What You Can” night, is scheduled for the Dec. 17 performance. For that performance only, tickets may be purchased at the door for whatever patrons can afford to pay. These tickets will go on sale at 7 p.m. that day with a limit of four tickets per party – cash and exact change only. This offer cannot be applied to previous purchases. Tickets may be purchased in advance at the regular prices.

Domser said he hopes Pay What You Can Night “will allow people who would not normally be able to afford the regular ticket prices to see the show.”

“Our goal is to make Young Robin Hood available to everyone regardless of their financial situation,” Domser said. “It’s our little gift for the holiday season.”

A hugely popular form of family entertainment, British “Panto” is a cultural phenomenon that combines the slapstick comedy of the Marx Brothers with the off-center humor of Benny Hill and Monty Python’s Flying Circus. Pantos feature a fairy tale plot, opulent costumes, gorgeous scenery, a huge cast and lots of audience participation.

Young Robin Hood is based on the classic adventures of Robin Hood, and as such, is primarily for children, but hidden in the hi-jinks are topical comedy and wholesome innuendo that amuses adults as well.

Alumnus and former Theatre on the Hill favorite Chris DeRose, who is part of the Second City comedy troupe in Chicago, will make a guest appearance.

The cast includes Colleen Alford, Ben Azat, Chase Busto, Tim Connors, Chelsea Cook, Casey Crough, Sarah Dunne, Darcy Elburn, Brady Eisenberg, Shelley Hierstetter, Erica Loy, Chris Molloy, Nina Minadakis, Mike Pfeiffer, Katie Ridgway, Cindy Sordo, Sydney Thro, Andrew Tucker, and Courtney Zimmerman.