Unveiling of Faculty Portraits in Hill Hall

Provost Tom Falkner pulls back the curtains to reveal the new portraits.
January 15, 2013

Portraits of five distinguished faculty were unveiled in Hill Hall during an afternoon reception held Dec. 12. This new gallery creates a space to publicly honor the McDaniel faculty who have been appointed to endowed chairs and professorships as well as to recognize those individuals whose generous gifts have created endowed positions.

President Roger Casey credited Board Chair Martin K.P. Hill for his suggestion to establish this special gallery in Hill Hall’s central lobby to applaud these faculty’s outstanding achievements in teaching, scholarship, and service to the campus community.

Unveiling of Faculty Portraits in Hill Hall
President Roger Casey speaking shortly before the unveiling.

Faculty and donors recognized are as follows:

Francis “Skip” Fennell, L. Stanley Bowlsbey Chair in Education and Graduate and Professional Studies 
Generously donated by JoAnn Harris-Bowlsbey, Ph.D.

Kathy Steele Mangan, Joan Develin Coley Chair of Creative Expression and the Arts
Generously donated by members of the 2009-2010 McDaniel College Board of Trustees

John Lindsay Olsh, Ethan A. Seidel Chair in Economics and Business Administration
Generously donated by Martin K.P. Hill and Kelly W. Hill

Vasilis “Bill” Pagonis. John Desmond Kopp Professorship in the Sciences
Generously donated through the bequest of John Desmond Kopp, Class of 1922

Thomas “Tom” James Zirpoli, Laurence J. Adams Chair in Special Education
Generously donated by alumni, friends and families of Target Community & Educational Services, Inc.

Unveiling of Faculty Portraits in Hill Hall
Board Chair Martin K.P. Hill, Francis "Skip" Fennell, Kathy Steele Mangan, John Lindsay Olsh, Vasilis "Bill" Pagonis, Thomas "Tom" James Zirpoli, President Roger Casey and Provost Thomas Falkner in front of the newly unveiled portraits.

To learn more about endowed chairs and professorships, call the Office of Institutional Advancement at 410-857-2250.