Skip to main
mcdaniel header

Past Presidents

The president of McDaniel College reports directly to the Board of Trustees and has the responsibility to provide vision for the college and leadership for the planning and operation of all aspects of the college’s programs and services. All members of the McDaniel community work closely with the president’s office to ensure the safety and success of our diverse student body. Over 150 years, the college has been served by ten presidents. The most recent past president, Dr. Roger N. Casey, served as the ninth President of McDaniel College for more than ten years. After more than a decade of accomplishments, Dr. Casey retired on May 31, 2021 and was succeeded by Dr. Julia Jasken as the college’s tenth president.

Past Presidents

Dr. Roger N. Casey, McDaniel's 9th President

Dr. Roger N. Casey served as the ninth President of McDaniel College of Westminster, Maryland, and Budapest, Hungary, for over ten years. One of the longest-serving college presidents in the State of Maryland, Dr. Casey retired on May 31, 2021. 

McDaniel College President Roger N. Casey

Presidential History of McDaniel College



2010-2021 Roger N. Casey, B.A., M.A., Ph.D
2000-2010 Joan Develin Coley, A.B., M.Ed., Ph.D., L.H.D., LL.D.
1984-2000 Robert Hunter Chambers III, A.B., B.D., Ph.D.
1972-1984 Ralph Candler John, B.A., S.T.B., S.T.M., Ph.D., L.H.D., Litt.D., D.H.L.
1947-1972 Lowell Skinner Ensor, B.A., B.D., D.D., L.H.D., LL.D.
1935-1947 Fred Garrigus Holloway, A.B., B.D., D.D., LL.D., L.H.D.
1920-1935 Albert Norman Ward, A.B., A.M., D.D., LL.D.
1886-1920 Thomas Hamilton Lewis, A.B., A.M., D.D., LL.D.
1867-1886 James Thomas Ward, D.D.