Skip to main

Students recognized at Spring awards ceremony

Nearly 30 honors for academic achievement and leadership were awarded to juniors, sophomores and first-year students during the April 28 Spring Awards ceremony held in Decker Center Forum. Students were also named to two prestigious leadership honor societies, Omicron Delta Kappa and Trumpeters. Additionally, juniors who were inducted March 31 into the prestigious Phi Beta Kappa National Honor Society were recognized.

Spring Awards Ceremony Listing 2019

Academic Awards

The Major George N. Keady Award for Excellence in History – Linda Wood of Elkridge, Md.


The Aristotle Award for Excellence in Communication – Andrew Obeng  of Frederick, Md.


The Gordon B. Shelton '68 Award for Excellence in the Life Sciences – Randall Hilleary of Bonney Lake, Wash.


The Ralph Candler and Dorothy Prince John Award for Academic Excellence and Service to the College Community – Cari Witherow of Camp Hill, Pa.


The Wasyl Palijczuk Art Award – Lauren Beckjord of Highland, Md.


The Anna J. Treff Award for Excellence in Pre-Medical or Biological Studies – Cooper Hostetler of Cumberland, Md.


Maryland Association of Certified Public Accountants Outstanding Achievement in Accounting Award – Kyle Wyant of La Plata, Md. 


The Jean Alpaugh Award for Interdisciplinary Study – Mikayla Lee of Columbia, Md. 


The James P. Earp Sociology Award – Tracy Fleming of Manchester, Md. 


The David Brian Cross Memorial Award for Achievement in Mathematics – Lan Mai of Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam


The Outstanding Sophomore Art Award – Quyen Nguyen of Baltimore


The Felix Woodbridge Morley Memorial Award – Elva Joya of Rockville, Md.


The Harry Clary Jones Scholarship – Physics – Mark Flores of Scottsdale, Ariz.


The Harry Clary Jones Scholarship – Chemistry – Katie Holland of Charlotte Hall, Md.



Not pictured:

The Millard Milburn Rice Non-Fiction Writing Prize – Marya Kuratova of Westminster, Md.

The Isabel Isanogle Royer Biology Scholarship – Samantha Long of California, Md.

The Ralph B. Price Scholarship – Jeremy McDermott of Manchester, Md.

The James D. Essig Memorial Scholarship – Andrew Murphy of Eldersburg, Md.

The William McCormick, Jr., Memorial Scholarship – Kaitlin Murphy of Williamsport, Md.

The Wentz Most Promising Art Freshman Prize – Laura Midkiff of Westminster, Md.

The Barry A. Winkelman Memorial Award – Riley O'Hara of Fairfax, Va.

Activity and Leadership Awards  


The Michael Whitmore Memorial Award – Mikyas Kisi of Baltimore and Caleb White of Glen Burnie, Md. 


The Brian T. Russo '86 Memorial Award – Shaun Thompson of Mount Airy and Jill Shephard of Monkton, Md.


The Philip E. and Ruth Shreeve Uhrig Green and Gold Soccer Achievement Award – Randall Hilleary of Bonney Lake, Wash.


The Jane M. Prichard Memorial Award – Abigail Hernandez of Gaithersburg, Md. 


Not pictured:

The James B. Moore Memorial Award – Cameron St. Andre of Westminster, Md. 


Omicron Delta Kappa Class of 2020, left to right, Cari Witherow, Erin Pogue and Rachael Fox

Omicron Delta Kappa, a national leadership honor society


Nicolette Brookman of Sykesville, Md.Rachael Fox of Crofton, Md.Erika Lewis of Westminster, Md.Erin Pogue of Easton, Md.Laurel Pogue of Easton, Md.Cari Witherow of Camp Hill, Pa.


Trumpeters, left to right, are Cari Witherow, Alyssa Swartz, Onesha Smith, Jahnai’ Sands, Erin Pogue and Rachael Fox

Trumpeters, a leadership honor society recognizing exemplary qualities of leadership, integrity and sincerity


Rachael Fox of Crofton, Md.Erin Pogue of Easton, Md.Laurel Pogue of Easton, Md.Jahnai' Sands of North Bellmore, N.Y.Onesha Smith of Baltimore Alyssa Swartz of Dillsburg, Pa.Cari Witherow of Camp Hill, Pa.


Phi Beta Kappa junior inductees Nicolette Brookman and Lauren Beckjord 

Phi Beta Kappa


Inducted on March 31, 2019

Marisol Barrera of Westminster, Md.Lauren Beckjord of Highland, Md.Nicolette Brookman of Sykesville, Md.

McDaniel College Trumpeters leadership honor society are (l.-r.) Cari Witherow, Alyssa Swartz, Onesha Smith, Jahnai’ Sands, Erin Pogue and Rachael Fox. (Not pictured: Laurel Pogue)