Skip to main
  • A canvas painting on the green ground

    McDaniel College hosts solo exhibition by Art professor and alum Chloe Irla '07

    Works by Associate Professor of Art and 2007 alum Chloe Irla are featured in the art exhibit “Home and Garden.” “Home and Garden” runs from Jan. 23-Feb. 17 in the college's Esther Prangley Rice Gallery.
  • Photo of a green McDaniel hat with an M on the front on top of a towel and bright yellow softballs.

    Physics professor shares the secret to playing your best game of catch

    A gentle throw is all you need during a game of catch, but what’s the best angle to get that perfect pitch? Jeff Marx, chair of the Department of Physics, published an answer to this question in the January 2023 issue of The Physics Teacher.
  • Chemistry professor Melanie Nilsson holding a Chemistry textbook while sitting on a bench outdoors.

    A textbook case: McDaniel professor studies inclusivity in STEMM

    Groundbreaking research conducted by biochemist and Associate Professor of Chemistry Melanie Nilsson found gender and race imbalances in surveyed college-level chemistry textbooks, from the photographs to the referenced professionals.
  • New Faculty 2022

    New full-time faculty join McDaniel

    New faculty at McDaniel include Farzad Ahmadi, assistant professor of Physics and Engineering, and Lyneia Richardson and Diane Walsh, who both join the college as assistant professors of Counseling. Xuejing Duan was also promoted to assistant professor of Data Analytics.
  • Daria Buese and Tracey Lucas

    McDaniel faculty awards presented

    To kick off the 2022-23 academic year, various awards were presented to McDaniel College faculty members during the opening faculty meeting.
  • Engle poses with her AESS award between two other awardees.

    How McDaniel expert Elly Engle teaches equity and sustainability through gardening

    Elly Engle, assistant professor of Environmental Studies, was recently recognized with the Early Career Award from the Association for Environmental Studies and Sciences. Engle discussed her down-to-earth approach to hands-on learning in the campus gardens, the Agrifood Program, Food Fellows, and plans for a local seed library.
  • Courtyard view

    Two faculty members earn the Nora Roberts Faculty Service Award and the Distinguished Scholars Award

    Vanessa Flora-Nakoski and Diane Williams have earned awards from the college — the 2022 Nora Roberts Faculty Service Award and the Distinguished Scholars Award, respectively — that will support their planned initiatives in research scholarship and student enrichment.
  • Linda Semu - Ira G. Zepp Distinguished Teaching Award

    Faculty earn top teaching awards

    Three McDaniel professors have earned awards for their dedication to teaching and scholarship, awarded at McDaniel's 152nd Commencement ceremony. The awards are: the Ira G. Zepp Distinguished Teaching Award, Ira G. Zepp Teaching Enhancement Grant, and the Shelton Adjunct Faculty Award for Teaching Excellence.
  • Christianna Nichols Leahy

    Ukraine’s desire for democracy: perspective from a McDaniel political science professor

    Christianna Leahy, professor and chair of the department of Political Science and International Studies, discusses the implications of Ukraine’s early battles for independence from Russia, especially in the Orange Revolution.
  • Boehlke Faculty Fellows shown with President Julia Jasken and Provost Rosa Rivera-Hainaj.

    Five professors recognized as Charles A. Boehlke, Jr., Engaged Faculty Fellows

    Five professors have been named Charles A. Boehlke, Jr., Engaged Faculty Fellows in recognition of their exceptional commitment to their students. The Charles A. Boehlke, Jr., Engaged Faculty Fellows Award was established with a gift from Charles A. Boehlke, Jr., a 1978 alumnus of the college and current member of the McDaniel Board of Trustees.