Skip to main

McDaniel College's board of trustees is the governing body of the college. Their governance encompasses many duties and responsibilities, including responsibility for strategic planning and oversight of the president. As the final authority for the college, our trustees make legal and fiduciary decisions, and are responsible for developing and approving the school’s mission, strategic goals and objectives.

In 2019, the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges (AGB), the premier organization representing higher education governing boards, honored McDaniel’s Board of Trustees with a 2019–2020 John W. Nason Award for Board Leadership. This award recognizes higher education governing boards that demonstrate exceptional leadership and initiative.

According to the AGB, “The McDaniel College Board of Trustees worked as a cohesive group to complete a thorough curriculum assessment, with a goal to strengthen academic programs by aligning offerings with the interests of current and prospective students.”

As a result, McDaniel welcomed the largest freshman class in the college’s history that academic year. The college also exceeded a $50-million fundraising goal by more than $1 million.

McDaniel’s Board of Trustees was selected for the award from more than 30 nominations.

2021 - 2022 Board of Trustees

Date in parentheses indicates year of election to the Board of Trustees. City and state indicate place of residence.

Charles A. Boehlke, Jr. ‘78 (2015)
Executive Vice President & CFO (ret.), MSC Industrial Direct
Hunt Valley, Maryland
William J. Butz ‘89 (2016)
CEO, Maxim Healthcare Services
Monkton, Maryland
Randy M. Day ‘77 (2017)
Chief Executive Officer, Perdue Farms
Salisbury, Maryland
Eric Dezenhall (2015)
CEO, Dezenhall Resources, Ltd.
Bethesda, Maryland
Mary Lynn Durham ‘70 (2003)
Lawyer, Mary Lynn Durham LPA Co.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
James Francis ‘84 (2014)
President, CEO, Trustee, Chesapeake Lodging Trust
Kamas, Utah
Ralph O. Frith ‘84 (2007)
Divisional Sales Manager (ret.), Spectrum Brands, Inc.
Woodbine, Maryland
Darrell Guyton ‘87 (2016)
Vice President, Specialty Contracts Group, Morgan Keller Inc.
Woodsboro, Maryland
Martin K. P. Hill L.H.D. (1993)
President, Woodhaven Building and Development, Inc.
Manchester, Maryland
Samuel E. Hopkins ‘80 (2016)
VP, Therapeutics, Asklepios BioPharmaceutical., Inc.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Jin H. Kang (2020)
President and CEO, WidePoint Corporation
Boca Raton, Florida
Edward J. Kasemeyer ‘67 (2018)
Senator (ret.), Maryland State Senate
Columbia, Maryland
Steven D. Kesler (1997)
Chief Investment Officer, Chesapeake Realty Partners
Reisterstown, Maryland
Marjorie R. Kimble, M.Ed. ‘86 (2007)
Media Specialist (ret.), Carroll County Public Schools
Westminster, Maryland
Karen Lamont ‘81 (2019)
Vice President, Kalas Golf
Durham, North Carolina
Carolyn P. Landis (1993)
Managing Member, Catalyst Partners, LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
James E. Lightner ‘59 ; Litt.D. ’17 (hon.) (2010)
Professor of Mathematics Emeritus and College Historian
Westminster, Maryland
Julie Lucas ‘95 (2013)
Vice President for Resource Development, MIT
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Jill Mennicken '81 (2021)
Laurel, New York
Albert J. Mezzanotte, Jr. ‘78 (1997)
Partner, Whiteford, Taylor & Preston L.L.P.
Annapolis, Maryland
Virginia Ace Miller ‘76 (2018)
McDonalds Franchisee (ret.)
Fort Myers, Florida
Charles E. Moore, Jr. ‘71 (1993)
CFO, Caspian International
Annapolis, Maryland
David K. Moskowitz ‘80 (2018)
Senior Advisor and Director, DISH Network Corporation
Pompano Beach, Florida
Christopher Newman ‘88 (2009)
Head of Americas, T. Rowe Price
Cockeysville, Maryland
Bruce H. Preston ‘75 (1995)
Preston Realty, LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Donald M. Rembert ‘61 (2007)
President, Rembert Pendleton & Jackson
Reston, Virginia
William M. Rodgers, III (2019)
Professor of Public Policy, Rutgers University
Hopewell, New Jersey
Robin Salomon (2015)
President, Skyline, LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Carolyn L. Scott, B.A. ‘67; M.L.A. ‘76 (1996)
Westminster, Maryland,
Barbara Payne Shelton ‘70 (2009)
Educational Consultant/Professor, Early Childhood Educational Consultants, LLC
Towson, Maryland
Aaron Slaughter '10 (2021)
Senior Manager, WithumSmith+Brown, PC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Dolores J. Snyder, M.Ed. ‘63; L.H.D. ‘89 (hon.) (1980)
Educator (ret.)
Westminster, Maryland
Susan C. Stevenson ‘85 (2020)
Executive Director, Novartis Institutes for Biomedical Research, Inc.
Ashland, Massachusetts
Patrick M. Stokes ‘90 (2019)
President and CEO, Sage Brothers Holdings
Martinsville, New Jersey
Mark A. Stuart, M.S. ‘94 (2018)
President and CEO, The San Diego Foundation
San Diego, California
Barbara A. Thomas ‘70 (2005)
Global Village Manager, Habitat for Humanity, International
Beaufort, South Carolina
Anne M. Vose ‘66 (2018)
President, Weatherbee Company
Edgartown, Massachusetts
James H. Yates, Jr. ‘72 (2003)
President/CEO, N.H. Yates & Company, Inc.
Phoenix, Maryland
Carroll L. Yingling ‘68 (2012)
Senior Vice President, RBC Wealth Management
Westminster, Maryland